Cheese vegan? - Yes, it is possible thanks to vegan alternatives!
3. vegan block cheese - Perfect with a glass of wine
4. cream cheese - these vegan alternatives go on bread
5. tomato mozzarella salad vegan? Vegan mozzarella makes it possible!
The special consistency of Mozzarella is also available in the vegan version. For example, here is the Frescolat Bio MozzaRisella. With this you can create in no time a vegan tomato mozzarella salad or prepare a sandwich with the vegan alternative to mozzarella. Also baked or as a filling extremely tasty!
6. vegan feta - the alternative to the Greek brine cheese
Long have we looked for it – but there it is: Vegan Feta. If you love the classic Greek feta cheese flavor, which is similar to the original made from goat’s or sheep’s milk, you should definitely try the Shepherd’s feta alternative from Bedda .
As a topping on the salad or to oven vegetables, the vegan feta alternative should never be missing. The alternatives are mostly coconut oil based and brined for that typical salty, light sour taste . But not only the taste convinces, but
the creamy, slightly crumbly consistency also agrees.
Our tip: Violife Greek White or the Shepherd of Bedda
7. vegan parmesan - the perfect pasta topping
What should not be missing from a typical Italian pasta? Natural Parmesan or Grana Padano. Pasta without Parmesan – does not have to be even as a vegan!
This is available either in one piece or already grated. Our recommendation: Violife PROSOCIANO or the ParVesan of Happy Cheeze | Also the drugstore chain DM has meanwhile likewise a very tasty alternative from Cashews and almonds.
If you want to show off at your next party, we recommend the Gran Prosociano – this is a vegan hard cheese alternative to Parmesan and can be grated perfectly over pizza, pasta and co and melts easily. Vegan Foodporn is guaranteed with it!
From Vantastic Foods there is also a spicy soy-based pasta topping: As a sprinkle cheese alternative Vantastic Grattugiato fits perfectly to refine vegan pasta dishes.
Make vegan parmesan yourself?
Parmesan vegan make yourself is very simple! Get the following ingredients and grind them in a blender:
- 85 g cashews
- 15 g yeast flakes (approx. 2 heaped tbsp.)
- 1/2 tsp salt
- 1/6 tsp garlic powder
Put everything in a stand mixer , mix (not too long, otherwise it will get a broad-like consistency) and ready is your vegan parmesan.
By the way, yeast flakes are a must-have in a vegan household. Not only do they add flavor and a cheesy texture, but they are also rich in B vitamins (if not heated). As Parmesan replacement on noodles, as secret ingredient for “Vegan Mac and Cheese” or simply as Topping on the salad yeast flakes are always a Top choice in the vegan kitchen.
8. vegan camembert - french white cheese is also possible vegan
Camembert lovers do not have to do without either! Dr. Mannah’s has produced “Daily Vegan” as a delicious, vegan alternative to Camembert. The special: the base is fermented cauliflower. Sounds fancy and tastes incredibly delicious and authentic.
You want to make vegan camembert yourself? At Peta there is a top recipe to it.
Dr. Mannah's - Daily Vegan
- Vegan alternative to camembert
- With vegan noble mold cultures
- On the basis of fermented cauliflower
- Vegetable ingredients from organic farming
9. vegan fondue cheese - Perfect for vegan raclette
You sit on New Year’s Eve in a ski lodge and around you it smells like cheese and you can not eat with? These times are fortunately long gone: Vegan fondue cheese is not only super easy to make yourself, but also as a ready vegan fondue cheese to buy.
When it’s cold and uncomfortable outside, there’s nothing better than gathering around a fondue bowl with friends or family. Whether at New Year’s Eve or in convivial company at Christmas. Vegan cheese fondue is the perfect occasion to experience food together and introduce his friends to vegan food and the variety of alternatives .
Our favorite: “Melt Me” by Sojana
Melt Me - Organic
- Vegan alternative to cheese sauce
- On the basis of almond drink
- In organic quality
- Ideal for vegan fondue
10. vegan raclette cheese
A good vegan raclette cheese should melt and also have a cheesy, authentic, spicy flavor . Most people buy their cheese at the supermarket because they think that’s where the best products are. But this is not always true. It also often happens that you can find better vegan cheese in well-stocked online stores because they have more choice.
We tried a few varieties and have two clear favorites for raclette that scored high in melting behavior and taste. Our personal favorites findest are the Melt Me, which melts particularly beautifully, Spicy Simply V slices or the Violife Gouda flavor.
And what about organic cheese?
Many turn to organic products because of the conditions in factory farming – we should
us here, however, always ask ourselves whether this mother’s milk – whether organic or conventional – the mother’s milk for the cheese is not intended for humans.
Is cheese vegetarian?
Yep. Since rennet is found in many types of cheese, it is not. In order to use the animal rennet for cheese production, it must first be extracted from the calves’ stomachs. For this purpose, the stomachs are minced and the enzymes are extracted from the mucosa by chemical processes, after which the rennet is purified and preserved. Often slaughterhouse waste is used for this purpose.
Which cheese contains rennet?
Animal rennet is added to about 10 percent of the cheese produced in Germany. Around 35 percent of the world’s production is made with it. Grana Padano or Parmesan cheese is by definition made with animal rennet. Some other cheeses also almost always contain animal rennet, such as Gorgonzola, Gruyère or Feta. Remember the rule of thumb here: the longer a cheese has to age, the more likely it is to contain animal rennet.
You want to support the work of This Is Vegan?
On our pages you will find so-called affiliate links. When you buy your favorite products through them, we receive a commission, which automatically supports us.
Jeder Euro hilft, unsere Vision voranzutreiben.
Disclaimer: Da gerade in der Diksussion steht, das man veganen Käse mit nicht-veganem Käse verwechseln könnte, möchten wir darauf hinweisen, dass es sich hier im Artikel beschrieben nur um vegane Alternativen zu Käse handelt.
Fotos: Unsplash / Simply V / Happy Cashew / Shutterstock / Rimma Bondarenko